Are you a ‘plot holder’?

I was reading an article where a council issued an eviction notice to an allotment holder. It has come to the attention of the committee …..your behaviour towards ‘plot holders’. I thought someone who worked an allotment should be call an allotmenteer. I googled it (other search engines are available) and found it is used http://thephysicblog.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/why-i-allotmenteer.html

Feeling better about my powers of the English language I turned to the photos of the two allotments I have visited and wondered ,’what is a good age to have an allotment’?

I can only conclude that any age is good and that the earlier you start the better. You don’t need to have been born into allotments as you can be adopted into the family. True you may have to put up with the occasional ribaldry but you will also glean wisdom if you ask the right questions and have patience to listen. In my last post on allotments I gave details of where and who to contact to find an allotment. If you got one now it could be wonderful by this time next year.

There is a special allotment owned by my two friends a twenty something and a thirty something. they have a vine surrounding their shed and like to have things standing up and ship shape

Looking good for a May photo

Looking good for a May photo

The other allotment managed by an octogenarian on his own. He is potato crazy with 5 varieties

You can just see Michael working away

You can just see Michael working away

How do you know which variety is which? "I know because I planted them" says Michael

How do you know which variety is which? “I know because I planted them” says Michael

Below are some links but I do hope, especially if you don’t have a garden and have children, that you consider an allotment. The children will love it

http://www.cholseycdt.org.uk/community-facilities/allotments

http://www.thametowncouncil.gov.uk/?option=com_k2&view=item&id=44:allotments&Itemid=191

If you want to find out just Google How do I get an allotment in (Town Name) (other search engines are available)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1371141/Police-called-evict-prize-winning-couple-allotment-neighbours-judged-big-wellies.html

https://greenersoha.wordpress.com/2014/10/25/allotments-for-life/

better

One thought on “Are you a ‘plot holder’?

Leave a Reply

